you need to go back to the ocean

level up your sky chasing

from the sea

Welcome back to ‘The Sunrise Chaser’ a bi-weekly newsletter for sunrise and sunset lovers everywhere. I hope that you enjoyed the first edition, and are ready to get stuck into this fortnight’s.

At the end of last year, I bought myself a water housing (more detail on what that is below) and it completely changed my sunrise chasing game. It allowed me to take my phone into the water without fear of tech damage - creating incredible scenes of sunrises from the ocean. The reflection of the sky on top of the water is often one of the most majestic sights at sunrise (or sunset) and this simple device elevates that to new heights.

It’s with that thought that I’ve themed this edition around water and hope that it inspires you to take a dip in whichever body of water you might have close to you (even if it’s the bath!).

predicting tip

Here is where I’ll share an additional or new tip to help with your sunrise and sunset chasing.

When looking for a sunrise or sunset location places near water expand the skies impact through reflection. These can be the sea, a lake, a river, a pond, a swimming pool or even a puddle

DW Around The World

what in the world…

Inspiration to improve your dedication

sky of the fortnight

I took to the cold ocean waters last week to capture a glorious Sunday sunrise. Jump to the ‘Sky chaser kit bag’ below to see what I use to take my phone in the water.

where to visit?

The Arabian peninsula’s chill older sibling of Oman has a beautiful capital, Muscat, that houses incredible sights and luxurious hotels. With a seafaring history, a trip here will mix desert with ocean. I was lucky to experience so much in just a few days when I visited.

out the window

Whenever I travel somewhere I am often looking for places to stay that have a unique or mind-blowing view.

Salzburg, Austria’s Schloss Leopoldskron is a location that the movie fans among you may recognise. Set on the Leopoldskroner Weiher with a captivating view of the Untersberg, a mountain that reflects gorgeously onto the waters in front of the hotel. Do you know the film? Drop a comment on the video with your guess.

@dwaroundtheworld

one of my favourite sunrise views with the untersberg mountain reflected in the lake ⛰️ #sunrisepredictor #sunriseprediction

sky chaser kit bag

Items that can help you be a better sky chaser. 

Edition two features the aforementioned water housing. The one I have is the version included below from Gdome. Check the link for the different varieties of housing that they have, but there are several other brands to consider including Aquatech.

bucket list

Sunrise and sunset spots from around the world I’m desperate to visit. Drop me an email (reply to this) to share your favourites for the chance to be featured. This is also a great way for me to highlight other wonderful creators you may want to follow.

sunrise spot

I visited Cambodia back in 2006 long before my obsession with the sky had developed. Visiting Angkor Wat at sunrise once again would be a dream.

sunset spot

Whilst I have been to Bali, Indonesia and to Uluwatu I never made it to the sensational Sunset Point.

blame it on the moon

On the 29th of September, depending on your where you’re based, we’ll have the next full moon. This one will be in the fire sign of Aries. You can use this website to confirm the best time to view it this month wherever you are.

I hope you enjoyed this ‘dive’ into all things sunrise and sunset amplified by water. I’d love to hear about your favourite spots by water.

Happy ocean-bound sky-chasing

DW

before you go…

Please select your favourite one of the below to vote in the poll, it helps me make this newsletter better.

What was your favourite section of this newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.