how you can end the day right

letting sunset set you up for success

the opposite of sunrise?

I know this is called ‘The Sunrise Chaser’ but I think we all also enjoy a spot of sunset chasing. This fortnight’s edition is themed around what is, in my opinion, the best way to end the day - watching the sunset. Experiencing the sun pass over the horizon has been proven to boost mood and help in the recalibration of your circadian rhythm, plus it’s a nice and free activity to do.

Although I live on the east coast of Australia, and therefore better positioned for sunrise, my first encounter with sky chasing was from sunsets through my window when I lived in London. This view from east London looking back west over the city ultimately inspired all that has come since.

Are you more of a sunrise person or a sunset person? Sunsets tend to be more popular as it doesn’t come with the worst part of watching a sunrise - getting out of bed before the sun has even come up.

A bonus inclusion in this edition is one of my earliest sky-chasing pictures, from the aforementioned London flat. As you can see from the overexposure, wonky framing and grainy finish things have moved on somewhat since then. We all have to start somewhere.

predicting tip

Here is where I’ll share an additional or new tip to help with your sunrise and sunset chasing.

If you go to watch a sunset remember to stick around after the sun goes down, just like the best colours of sunrise are before the sun rises, the best colours of sunset are after the sun has set

DW Around The World

what in the world…

Inspiration to improve your dedication

sky of the fortnight

To keep up with this edition’s theme I ventured out to my crowded local beach to watch this subtle reverse sunset. This term has become online parlance for what the sky looks like when the sun is setting behind you - which is why we talk of them all the time in Sydney as it’s the only type on our east-facing beaches.

where to visit?

Without a doubt, the best sunsets I’ve ever witnessed were during my visit to Indonesia’s famed island of Bali. Have a read below of some recommendations of where to visit to witness, hopefully, the best skies of your life.

out the window

Whenever I travel somewhere I am often looking for places to stay that have a unique or mind-blowing view.

Whilst I spend a lot of time researching hotels to stay in with magnificent views, emailing them to see if it’s possible to get particular rooms and then hoping to manifest the most incredible skies - sometimes it doesn’t plan out. Also, it sometimes doesn’t go to plan because you had no plan but somehow the stars aligned and the sky gods deliver.

This happened to me when I visited Singapore, I’d spent my first night at the legendary Marina Bay Sands and moved to another hotel for my final two nights in the city-state. Without any expectation or pressure, on my final night in Singapore, I got to witness one of the most stunning sunsets from a small balcony off my room at the PARKROYAL COLLECTION Marina Bay with epic views of the city skyline.

sky chaser kit bag

Items that can help you be a better sky chaser. 

I am so obsessed with these recycled rugs from Salty Aura that I now have six of them. I use them in various ways including for sunbathing, picnics, a throw for the sofa and on my bed. They do make the perfect companion for sunset (or sunrise) chasing so park your behind on one of these whilst watching the sky perform. Whilst most of the designs I have are either discontinued or sold out I’ve included one of the ones below that I’ve got my eye on. Maybe number seven...

bucket list

Sunrise and sunset spots from around the world I’m desperate to visit. Drop me an email (reply to this) to share your favourites for the chance to be featured. This is also a great way for me to highlight other wonderful creators you may want to follow.

sunrise spot

The magical and mysterious Ahu Tongariki is the largest ceremonial structure built on Easter Island / Rapa Nui in Chile. In the morning, at daybreak, the sun comes up behind the structures giving a majestic and otherworldly view - something I would love to see in real life one day.

sunset spot

Not only is Egypt on my bucket list for its amazing culture, history and experiences, but a sunset over the OG icons of the Pyramids of Giza - the only seven wonder of the ancient world still standing - would be un-toppable.

@headforhorizons

Insane sunset at the pyramids 🌅 #travelegypt #egypttravel #travelwithme #pyramidsofegypt #egyptpyramids #sunsetlovers

blame it on the moon

There hasn’t been a full moon since the last edition, so the details remain the same. On the 29th of September, depending on where you’re based, we’ll have the next full moon. This one will be in the fire sign of Aries. You can use this website to confirm the best time to view it this month wherever you are.

And here is where the sunsets on this, the third edition of ‘The Sunrise Chaser’ which I should have renamed ‘The Sunset Chaser’ as a one-off. I hope you’ve been inspired to go and watch the sunset.

By the way, is sunset actually the opposite of sunrise?

Happy sunset chasing

DW

before you go…

Please select your favourite one of the below to vote in the poll, it helps me make this newsletter better.

What was your favourite section of this newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.